Another Flex Diet Testimonial

Athlete Profile : LEANNA CARR

POWERLIFTING/FIGURE COMPETING

  apo3

MY NAME IS LEANNA CARR AND I’M 23 YEARS OLD. I’M A WNBF PRO FIGURE COMPETITOR AND A RAW 63KG POWERLIFTER IN THE USAPL/IPF.

WHEN DID YOU START FLEXIBLE DIETING?

THREE AND A HALF YEARS AGO, WHICH IS ALSO WHEN I STARTED POWERLIFTING. I’VE BEEN A FLEXIBLE DIETER FROM THE BEGINNING!

WHAT WAS YOUR DIET LIKE BEFORE FLEXIBLE DIETING?

IT RESEMBLED THE TYPICAL COLLEGE STUDENT WHICH INEVITABLY LED ME TO GAIN THE FRESHMAN FIFTEEN -OR IN MY CASE 25. IT WOULD FLUCTUATE BETWEEN PERIODS OF ENTIRELY TOO MUCH TACO BELL AND CHEAP TEQUILA WITH PERIODS OF CRASH DIETING/RESTRICTION/JUICE CLEANSES. TO SUM IT UP, IT WASN’T HEALTHY!

apo2

WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR BIGGEST BREAKTHROUGH SINCE FLEXIBLE DIETING?

WELL SINCE I INITIALLY STARTED MY “FITNESS JOURNEY” UNDER THE GUIDANCE OF KNOWLEDGEABLE COACHES: MATT JANSEN AND BRIAN MINOR OF INOV8 ELITE PERFORMANCE. I CAN SAY THAT FLEXIBLE DIETING HAS PLAYED A SIGNIFICANT ROLE IN EVERY ACCOMPLISHMENT I’VE ACHIEVED THUS FAR. NOT ONLY HAS MY BODY COMPOSITION CHANGED COMPLETELY, BUT I’VE BEEN ABLE TO ENDURE STAGES OF MUSCLE GROWTH AND COMPETITION PREP THROUGH FLEXIBLE DIETING, WHICH ULTIMATELY LED ME TO WIN MY NATURAL FIGURE PRO CARD THIS PAST SEASON. IT’S ALSO HELPED ME CONTINUOUSLY INCREASE STRENGTH IN ALL “BIG THREE” LIFTS. I CURRENTLY HOLD THE GA STATE RECORDS FOR MY WEIGHT/AGE IN THE USAPL, I’VE WON NUMEROUS COMPETITIONS, AND ALSO PLACED TOP 5 THIS PAST SUMMER AT MY FIRST RAW NATIONALS POWERLIFTING MEET!

WHAT ARE YOUR THREE MOST IMPORTANT GUIDELINES YOU GIVE YOURSELF?

  1. EAT FOR PERFORMANCE. MY MEALS ARE STRUCTURED AROUND MY TRAINING AND I MAKE SURE TO EAT PLENTY OF WHOLE FOODS TO MEET MY MICRONUTRIENT GOALS AND DAILY FIBER REQUIREMENTS.
  2. MEAL TIMING. I TIME MY MEALS AROUND MY WORKOUTS. I MAKE SURE TO GET PLENTY OF FOOD, CARBS SPECIFICALLY, BEFORE AND AFTER MY WORKOUTS FOR OPTIMAL FUEL AND RECOVERY.
  3. ENJOYMENT. I HAVE A HUGE SWEET TOOTH THAT’S HARD TO NEGLECT! THANKS TO FLEXIBLE DIETING, I DON’T HAVE TO! AT THE END OF THE DAY, MY DIET NEVER FEELS LIKE A DIET BECAUSE IT’S NOT RESTRICTIVE AND I’M ABLE TO ENJOY THE ABILITY OF FLEXIBILITY AND MODERATION!
  4. apo

WHAT IS THE BEST PIECE OF ADVICE YOU WISH YOU HAD WHEN STARTING FLEXIBLE DIETING THAT COULD HELP NEWBIES?

BE PATIENT, ENJOY THE PROCESS, AND DON’T EXPECT TO BE PERFECT. RESULTS WON’T HAPPEN OVERNIGHT AND IT CERTAINLY WON’T BE A PROGRESSIVELY LINEAR JOURNEY. HOWEVER, AS LONG AS YOU’RE CONSISTENT AND ENJOYING WHAT YOU DO, YOU’LL REACH YOUR GOALS AND BE ABLE TO SUSTAIN THEM!

WHAT IS YOUR PERSONAL DEFINITION OF FLEXIBLE DIETING?

EATING FOR A GOAL AND SUSTAINABILITY. AS A PHYSIQUE ATHLETE AS WELL AS A STRENGTH ATHLETE, FOOD IS AN ESSENTIAL PART OF WHAT I DO. NOT ONLY THAT, BUT AS A HUMAN BEING, FOOD IS AN ESSENTIAL PART OF LIFE -DUH! IT IS MEANT TO BE ENJOYED, FUEL OUR BODIES FOR EVERY DAY TASKS, AND IN MY CASE, GIVE ME THE POWER TO SQUAT 2.5 TIMES MY BODY WEIGHT ON THE REGULAR. FLEXIBLE DIETING HAS GIVEN ME THE KNOWLEDGE AND ABILITY TO UNDERSTAND THE CALORIC DEMANDS OF MY BODY, FILL MY BODY WITH PLENTY OF MICRONUTRIENTS FOR OPTIMAL PERFORMANCE, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, IT GIVES ME THE OPTION OF VARIETY SO I CAN ENJOY THIS LIFESTYLE AND THE OCCASIONAL DOUGHNUT… GUILT-FREE -AS LONG AS IT FITS MY MACROS!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Notifications. Bookmark the permalink.