Murph: A Memorial Day Traditon

CrossFit 7220 member and veteran, Paul Bennick, served with Michael Murphy. Read about Murph from someone who knew him first hand…

murph

We were both members of a Naval Special Warfare Task Force in Baghdad in 2004.  Each element of the task force was made up of a contingent of Naval personnel, and a squad of Army personnel.  My squad and Murph’s made one of those elements.  I could go on for some time about him, but I guess what stands out most in my minds eye were the things that made him outstanding in every way; his work ethic, his attention to detail, and his teachability.  I observed very quickly that the thing that separated men of his caliber from the average, was his willingness to learn anything from anyone if it had value.  His ego never got between him and a valuable lesson, even if it came from an Army buck Sergeant.  Everything he did, he did flawlessly.  There was no half-assed anything with him.  He would do pull-ups in full battle rattle that easily weighed in excess of 100 pounds, and he would smile while he was doing them.  I admired him so much, I always wanted to emulate those qualities that were so naturally a part of him.  After a decade, those are the things I remember most.  I take his example with me everywhere, at home with my family, at work, especially at the gym.  I try to work hard, and be the most teachable, most coachable person in there every day.  By virtue of those qualities I will improve.  It was the honor of my life to serve with him, and it is my privilege that to me, Murph will always be more than the name of a workout. ~ Paul Bennick

 

We hope you’ll join us for our annual Memorial Day “Murph” WOD. Sign up on the schedule at 7:00 or 8:00 am. Community members invited to drop-in.

apo

In memory of Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy, 29, of Patchogue, N.Y., who was killed in Afghanistan June 28th, 2005.

This workout was one of Mike’s favorites and he’d named it “Body Armor”. From here on it will be referred to as “Murph” in honor of the focused warrior and great American who wanted nothing more in life than to serve this great country and the beautiful people who make it what it is.

Partition the pull-ups, push-ups, and squats as needed. Start and finish with a mile run. If you’ve got a twenty pound vest or body armor, wear it.

This entry was posted in Notifications. Bookmark the permalink.