Amanda and her Amazing Arms!

A big thank you to another one of our fierce women, Amanda, for sharing the impact CrossFit has had on her life.

apo

I should start off by relaying WHY I started CrossFit in the first place.  I started hearing my parents and my in-laws complain about pain, about how they can’t do anything, about how many pills they take for this, and the other pills they have to take because of the side effects of the first pill. I have seen several friends get hip replacements and knee replacements which got me thinking that, if we use our bodies correctly, surely we shouldn’t need to get major joints replaced. I think it was actually an Aleve commercial that made the lightbulb come on: “A body in motion, stays in motion.” It seems so silly, but it is so true. I have never been in sports or physically fit, but I knew I needed to do something. But what? Shortly after this whole revelation of sorts, Mike came in and talked to us at UniWyo about CrossFit. The practicality of it and the idea behind it made so much sense. I went to a free workout and was hooked. That one hour pretty much changed my whole little world.

I could go on and on for a bazillion years about how much I love CrossFit and how amazing it is, so I’ve limited myself to the three BIGGEST changes I’ve seen in myself over the course of the last year.

  1. I am brave. At least I’m a lot braver than I was a year ago. I’ve done so many things that I normally would’ve said, “I can’t do that!” I drive to the gym, often times with sweaty hands from WOD anxiety, and force myself to do physically challenging things. I never in a million years would have given you a photo of me without my shirt on one year ago. No way. No how. But now I am proud of that body. I have put a lot of blood, sweat, and tears into that body. I am making that body stronger so it lasts well until I die. And I love my biceps. I’m really excited for tank top weather.
  2. I am strong. Yes, I can lift heavier things. I can reach to a high shelf without worrying about dropping stuff on my head. But I am also stronger mentally. I talk myself into doing ridiculous things (16.5 anyone?) over and over again and finishing them. Quitting is no longer an option.
  3. I am confident. I have always struggled with self esteem and self confidence. In making myself do difficult things physically and in pushing myself mentally to do those difficult things, I have confidence that I’ll be able to do the same in everyday life.

amanda Amandar

I love how supportive all the athletes are of one another as well. Sometimes those words of encouragement are the little boost I need to pick up that barbell for one more set, or push myself to finish when it feels insurmountable. You guys are the best!

Thanks for being so amazing with all of your members. The training and nutrition guidance at CF7220 really are top notch and I appreciate all of your help every time I come in!

 

This entry was posted in Notifications. Bookmark the permalink.