Wendler’s tips for the press

  • Most lifters like taking a grip just outside the shoulders. I grip about an inch and a half outside the knurling of a power bar – which puts my grip about thumb’s length from the smooth part of the bar. This will ensure shoulder safety and stability.apo

    •   I begin the press by lifting my chin up, and I try to just miss it when the bar goes up. I don’t want the bar bowing out any more than it has to.
    •   As the bar is pressed overhead, bring your head and chest through. Don’t push the bar back.
    • Bring the bar back down in the same motion.
    •   Each rep should start with the bar on your shoulders. Don’t perform half reps. Your body was designed to move through a full range of motion, so do it.
  •  Keep your lower back arched and your chest up throughout the entire lift.
  •  The positioning of your feet is determined by your comfort level. I take a narrow (less than shoulder width) stance, but this isn’t a requirement.
  •  You don’t use leg drive to push the bar overhead, but try to keep your legs strong and taut through the entire movement.
This entry was posted in Notifications. Bookmark the permalink.